6:30 – Adoption of Agenda

  • The meeting started at 6:45 PM.

6:35 – Approval of previous minutes

  • Motion made to approve March and April minutes at the May meeting.

7:00 – Reports

  • Chair's Report (Paulo Vasconcelos)
    • Best Practices for remote conferencing.
    • Upcoming conferences to Portland. Chapter chairs to engage in organizing committees.
    • Review of travel restrictions for volunteers
    • Best Practices for events in vTools
    • Summer Social discussion. Waiting on more news. Potential for a virtual Summer Social.
  • Treasurer's Report (Paulo Vasconcelos on behalf of Lee Oien).
    • Those who received checks from the Section last month, please cash them. There will be a monthly reminder so that the Treasurer can consolidate the CBRS.
    • Section funds disbursement to be sent to societies that have concentration accounts - Chapter Chair should send the request to Paulo and Treasurer (Lee). There is a purchase card that can be used to utilize and manage the funds. Chapters that don't have Treasurer can ask Secretary to hold both positions. Chair and Treasurer can use the P-card.
  • Secretary (Heidi DeGarmo)
    • Presented events list with missing attendance reports.
    • Review of events logged YTD.
    • Region mtg this weekend - all virtual.
  • YoPro (Jian Guo)
    • PNW Leadership Summit to be postponed.
  • SAC (Matt Harrison)
    • OSU graduation postponed to October. Students are not in school.
  • Women in Engineering
    • WIE - book club is going strong. Ed offered to promote the book club at the Region 6 website. Heidi/Eve to send blurb to Ed.
    • New book: What If? by Randall Munroe.

7:40 – Discussion Items:

  • Calagator as an additional resource to promote meetings for non-members.
  • Computer Society event coming on April 30th.

7:50 – Action Items

  • Senior Member ElevationUpdate your profile, then reach out to Diwakar.
  • SusTech is completely virtual.

7:55 – Tonight's Focus (Information Items)

  • None.

8:00 – Old Business / New Business

  • None.

8:20 – Future Focus
May: PES and OIT Klamath Falls. Justin to confirm.
Jun: TBD
Jul: TBD

8:30 – Adjournment

Attendees (WebEx):  Paulo Vasconcelos (Chair), Justin Wagner (Vice-Chair), Heidi DeGarmo (Secretary), Jian Guo (YP Chair), Rick Smith (PACE Chair), Daniel Goodrich (Awards and Events Coordinator), Diwakar Agarwal, (Membership Coordinator), Ed Epp (RAS Chair), Ed Perkins (Nanotechnology Council), Michael Bates (CS Vice-Chair), Matt Harrison (SAC Chair), Rebecca Burfitt (OIT SB), Icek Warnecke (OIT SB Chair),  Jinsub Kim (SP Chair), Sohrab Aftabjahani (CS Chair), Alex Higgins (PSU SB Chair), Dwight Gray.